iRobot Roomba 880 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
≡ Menu
Menu 



Roomba Robot Reviews – Find the Best Deals Online!

Welcome to Roomba Robot Reviews, a website dedicated to bringing you the best prices online.

The Roomba series by iRobot is an advanced group of robotic vacuum cleaners that are redefining the way we live. Each robot vacuum cleaner is a state of the art; lean; mean; cleaning machine that pushes the boundaries of technology and luxury lifestyle to the limit. With a Roomba vacuum robot you will never have to vacuum again.

Here at Roomba Robot Reviews we have done in-depth research and reviewed the whole range of Roomba Robots so it is easier for you to decide on which one suits you the best.

Our iRobot Roomba reviews outline both the good and bad points about each Roomba vacuum cleaner providing you with honest reviews based on opinions from all over the world. We have done the research so you don’t have to.

Each page contains an overview of each product as well as a well-researched review that includes the features and benefits of the Roomba as well as any downfalls it may have. As well as individual Roomba vacuum reviews, we have also included up to date star ratings and customer reviews from Amazon as well as links to customer reviews on other merchant websites (like iRobot) to help you as much as possible in making your decision.

Roomba 880 – Released Nov 2013

The bees knees of irobot roomba vacuuming technology, you will feel like you live on a different planet with a Roomba 880 robotic genius.

On this iRobot Roomba Reviews site, you will also find product specifications for each model, a compilation of videos about each iRobot and a table that compares different Roomba series so you know which one is suited best for you.

On top of this we also have a price comparison chart that updates the prices of each Roomba from various online stores like iRobot, Amazon and a variety of others.

These prices are updated in real time (every time the page is loaded) so you can compare the best Roomba prices available online.

If you would like daily price updates delivered to your inbox simply sign up to the form at the bottom of the page for the product you are interested in and we will send you a daily email with the prices for that day. As well as Roomba reviews you will find that we have other robotic vacuum cleaner reviews for products like mint, braava and also Scooba.

They say with a Roomba you will never have to vacuum again – well with Roomba Robot Reviews you will never have to look anywhere else for information on Roombas ever again. Feel free to contact us using the form on the contact page should you require any more information.

Roomba Robotic Vacuums

The Roomba 880 is currently the best Roomba ever made. It features new Tangle Free rubber extractors, New AeroForce Cleaning Technology and a longer battery life. Said to remove 50% more dust and dirt than previous models the 880 is a lean mean robotic cleaning machine.
Roomba 880
The iRobot Roomba 870 is the cheaper version of the Roomba 880. Like the 880, it comes with the new AeroForce™ cleaning system and rubber extractors. The main difference between the 870 and 880 is that it doesn't have a remote and has virtual walls instead of a virtual lighthouse.
Roomba 870
Released in mid 2012 the iRobot Roomba 790 was the first Roomba to feature a remote control. It comes with an AeroVac Series 2 Bin, Dual Hepa Filters and a Virtual Lighthouse. Some people still prefer the 790 as it has brushes as opposed to the rubber extractors of the newer Roomba 880.
Roomba 790
The iRobot Roomba 780 was released in 2011 as part of the 700 series. It was the first Roomba to come with touchpad controls. It also features ‘Dirt Detect Series 2′ technology and ‘Room to Room Navigation’ that lets it completely finish one room before starting another.
Roomba 780
The iRobot Roomba 770 is (was) actually more popular than the Roomba 780. The main reason for this is the price. The 770 and 780 are basically the same machine but the 780 has a touchpad and the 770 has buttons. The 780 also has virtual lighthouse whereas the 770 only has virtual walls.
Roomba 770
Featuring iAdapt responsive cleaning technology the iRobot Roomba 760 has a 50% longer battery life than previous models. It comes with dual HEPA air filters and can be scheduled to clean up to 7 times a week. A good Roomba for apartments and small houses.
Roomba 760
The iRobot Roomba 650 features advanced AeroVac Technology which means it can pick up a whole lot more dirt and dust. It boasts of superior suction power and airflow compared to its predecessors. It also features onboard scheduling unlike the Roomba 630.
Roomba 650
The Roomba 630 was released as a cheaper alternative to the 700 series. It offers a 3 stage cleaning system, Aerovac technology as well as dirt detect and virtual walls. It does not have a scheduling system like other more expensive models but doesn't cost as much either.
Roomba 630

The latest in floor cleaning technology – the Scooba 450 scrubs and removes up to 99% of household bacteria. Never mop your floors ever again with the latest in iRobot Scooba technology.

Scooba & Braava Floor Cleaners

The iRobot Scooba 450 is the latest hard floor cleaner from iRobot. It features a unique three-cycle cleaning process which first sweeps and pre-soaks the floor and then scrubs and vacuum squeegees, before finally giving it a squeegee finish. The 450 has both a 20 and 40 minute cleaning cycle and can be used on all hard-floor surfaces.
Scooba 450
The Scooba 390 is the next step up from the 230. Using a 4 step cleaning system the Scooba 390 can remove up to 98% of household bacteria. It vacuums the floors and then applies cleaning solution, scrubs, and then mops the floor leaving it sparkling clean. The 390 comes with virtual walls so you can control the area that you want it to clean.
Scooba 390
iRobot Braava 380T is the leader of the floor mopping robots. It uses disposable microfiber cleaning cloths to sweep and damp mop hard floor surfaces. The Braava 380T also includes a pro-clean reservoir pad and NorthStar® Navigation System. It features extended battery life and also charges in no time.
Braava 380T
The iRobot Braava 320 is a floor mopping robot that uses reusable or disposable micro-fiber cleaning cloths to dry and damp mop your floor. It features a NorthStar® Navigation System that guides its movements and it can effectively cleans all hard floors including wood, tiles and vinyl.
Braava 320
The Mint 5200 is the next step up from the 4200 and features a pro clean system, and advanced NorthStar® Navigation System 2.0 that guides it as it sweeps and mops hard floors. Whisper quiet in operation, it also has a longer run time and charges faster than the 4200.
iRobot Mint 5200
The Mint 4200 is a compact and efficient robotic cleaner with “dry sweeping” and “damp mopping” cleaning modes. It is whisper quiet and features a NorthStar Navigation System which creates a map of the floor and cleans the entire area effectively.
iRobot Mint 4200

Roomba 870 – Released March 2014

The younger sibling of the Roomba 880. The Roomba 870 has all the power of the 880 – but costs you less! Great for anyone who wants the job done but doesn’t want to spend as much!

Roomba Robot Reviews: Everything You Wanted to Know About the iRobot Roomba

Robotic vacuum cleaners may have been dismissed as a crazy futuristic dream in the past, but they’re a major industry today. A study by Lorenza Della Santa for Euromonitor International reports that the robotic vacuum cleaner industry was worth $434 million in Western Europe alone and is expected to increase by 50% in the next year.

Here are some other statistics worth considering…
In 2008 alone, 940,000 vacuum cleaning robots were sold. (Source: IEEE Spectrum)
Sales of robots for domestic purposes (including vacuuming, lawn mowing, etc.) are likely to reach 23.9 million units between 2014-2017 with an estimated value of US $6.5 billion. (Source: International Federation of Robotics)
More than 10 million home robots were sold by iRobot as of 2013. (Source: the iRobot website)

What is the Roomba?

Roomba is an automated vacuum cleaner that does all the work of a conventional vacuum (and a bit more) without the help of a human. With the help of brushes, extractors, sensors and vacuuming technology it sucks up dirt and dust into a storage bin within the machine. The Roomba is also fitted with two large wheels (each driven by a separate electric motor) that allow the vacuum cleaner to spin in any direction effortlessly.

A Brief History About the iRobot Roomba Vacuum Cleaner:

The iRobot Roomba vacuum cleaner is the brainchild of inventor Helen Greiner. The idea to seek the help of a robot to clean the house was probably borne out of the fact that whenever Helen and her colleague introduced themselves as roboticists, people often asked them if they could invent a robot to ‘clean their house’. (Source: Ideafinder.com)
Since their launch in 2002, Roomba is not only popular in households, but also among technology enthusiasts and has featured in housekeeping magazines like Good Housekeeping. It was also chosen as one of Oprah’s favorite things and featured on VH1’s Diva Awards.

How does the Roomba Vacuum Cleaner Work?

The vacuum cleaner performs a set of preprogrammed instructions. There are five motors inside the machine- one for each of the wheels, one for the vacuum, one for the brush and one for the agitator assembly systems. Roomba uses its trademarked iRobot AWARE Robotic Intelligence System to pick up information about the environment and send it to the microprocessor.
When a user presses the CLEAN button, the vacuum cleaner calculates the room size by sending infrared signals. The time taken to receive these signals back helps the machine to determine the size of the room. The infrared sensors also help it to detect walls and other obstacles. Similarly, sensors placed underneath the machine help it from falling down stairs and avoiding steep drops. Its sensors are sensitive to touch and hence stop before hitting objects.

There are several modes by which the room is cleaned. For instance, it can clean by sweeping across a room when the room size is large or it can repeatedly clean the same area when the place needs ‘spot’ cleaning.
Your Roomba also knows when a floor needs extra cleaning. The machine is fitted with a piezoelectric sensor that can detect dirt when it hits the brush. As dirt hits this electric sensor, tiny impulses are generated. The machine is preprogrammed to ‘think’ that excessive impulses means that the place is extra dirty. This leads the machine to retrace its steps towards the dirty area for a second round of cleaning. To clean around walls, the Roomba is fitted with a wall sensor. This allows the machine to follow around the walls of a room and around furniture using the side mounted flailing brush.

Why is the iRobot Roomba so Popular:

• They help the elderly in cleaning their homes:
Automated cleaning robots have helped countries like Denmark to drive their ‘welfare modernization strategy’. A survey by DaneAge reports that almost 84% of managers responsible for elder care are either using robot vacuum cleaners or are planning to use in the near future. (Source: The Guardian, 13th February, 2014). Robotic vacuum cleaners are especially important for senior citizens who haven’t gone into full time care.

• They save time and money:
Cleaning is neither cheap nor easy. Employing someone to clean your house can set you back a few hundred dollars every month. Similarly, it can take a few hours every Saturday to get your vacuumed. Robotic vacuum cleaners can clean the house everyday – keeping the dirt and dust to a minimum and at the fraction of a cost incurred by employing someone else.

• They’re easy to use:
This is a no brainer- the iRobot Roomba is automatic and can work unattended. All that you need to do is to press a button and the vacuum cleaner will do its work. You don’t even have to bother recharging it. The Roomba 800 series docks automatically for recharging when the battery runs low.

• They’re compact:
Unlike conventional vacuum cleaners, Roombas are compact. The iRobot Roomba is shaped like a flat disc and looks a bit like a fat Frisbee. This allows the cleaner to move around furniture and other equipment effortlessly. Infrared sensors prevent the Roomba vacuum cleaner from bumping into obstacles.

• They’re not that expensive:
When Helen Greiner and her colleagues at iRobot set to develop the robotic vacuum cleaner, affordability was one of their objectives. Even the latest and the most expensive iRobot Roomba sells for $699. Much more affordable, when compared with the price (rumored $1500) of the upcoming Dyson 360 Eye.

• They’re intelligent:
A Roomba can identify places where it has already cleaned and detect obstacles and stairs – on top of that kids (and adults) and pets think they are pretty cool.

iRobot Roomba Reviews (By Series):
500 Series:

The iRobot Roomba 560 is the 3rd generation model and was once the most popular product on the market. It follows a three stage cleaning system to clean walls, corners and other obstacles. The AeroVac Technology ensures that the bin collects as much dirt as possible before the need to be cleaned out. However, the biggest obstacle in its popularity is its battery life. The Roomba 560 needs to be recharged after only 45 minutes of cleaning. While you don’t have to do anything as the Roomba recharges itself, it can be irritating to wait for it to stop and start.

600 Series:

iRobot replaced the 500 series with the 600 series in 2012. It introduced a series of changes to the machine including scheduled cleaning, AeroVac technology (the concept was introduced in the 600 series and later adapted it to the 500 series), virtual walls, and a few more.
The Robot 650 was well received among users and critics alike. Some of its features include the 3 stage cleaning process and AeroVac technology (mentioned earlier). Besides these, the 650 also has an improved design to help the brush pick up dirt better. The infrared technology that allows the machine to detect obstructions like walls, stairs, etc. was also introduced in this series.

Unlike its predecessors, there are less chances of the Roomba 650 clogging up around wires due to anti tangle technology. The Roomba 650 may not compare with its recently introduced counterparts, like the 800 series, but it is certainly the best bet for budget buyers who don’t want the extra razzamatazz but are looking for some robotic cleaning help. The iRobot Roomba 630 is a little cheaper than the 650 but only has the most basic functionalities of these robotic vacuum cleaners, the 3 stages cleaning, AeroVac and improved brush design.

700 Series:

The 700 series was released in 2012 and was actually released just before the more cost effective 600 series. Some of the models launched under this series continue to remain bestsellers.
The Roomba 760 was the first among the 700 series and included features such as advanced cleaning, AeroVac series 2, Dual HEPA air filters and soft touch bumper. The improved AeroVac 2 series allows the machine to pull lint, pet hair and other similar objects to collect within the machine without clogging. The improved air filters allow the machine to collect dust as fine as 0.3 microns. It can determine areas that need better cleaning and also comes with an extended battery life.

The Roomba 770 is one of the best selling models of the company. While it includes all the technical advantages of the earlier 760 model, some of its advancements include a programming system that has 7 days worth of memory, a full bin indicator and an extended battery life. The Roomba 780 and 790 are also a part of the 700 series. iRobot introduced the iAdapt navigation system with the 780 model.

Some of the other features include the Dirt Detect Series to look for unclean areas within a certain space. Also rather than having to find the device to turn it on, an infrared sensor system allows the user to operate it with a remote.
The Roomba 790 model has a wireless command center that allows the user to program the device without being in the same room. The high number of features justified the company to charge a higher price – that was until the 880 came along.

800 Series:

The Roomba 800 Series is the latest in the line of Roomba robotic vacuum cleaners. Some of the advanced features introduced in this series include the Aeroforce Cleaning System. This system allows the machine to trap allergens and dirt.

Aeroforce is a combination of three factors.

1. Aeroforce Extractors 2. Airflow accelerator 3. Powerful High Efficiency Vacuum Motor

Let’s take a look at these in more detail.

AeroForce Extractors
iRobot has replaced the bristles in their Roomba vacuums with AeroForce extractors. These are soft rubber rollers which counter rotate and ‘beat up’ dirt and dust breaking it down into smaller particles which makes it easier for the 800 series suck up into the bin. Aeroforce extractors require lower maintenance and have more of a ‘tangle-free ability’ that makes them better than brushes on the previous Roomba models.

Airflow Accelerator
Due to a more powerful vacuum engine in the 800 series an accelerated airflow channel is created inside the machine. A sealed conduit around the outside of the extractors basically creates a super vacuum that sucks harder than ever before.

High Powered Vacuum Motor
The new highly efficient vacuum motor of the 800 series has 5 times more ‘airpower’ than previous models.

For more information on Aeroforce watch the video below.

Unlike the previous models, the Roomba 870 and Roomba 880 series do not tangle, nor do they allow dirt to be clogged within the machine. The Roomba 880 comes with additional features like the lighthouse, which allows the device to not move to the next room without cleaning the room where it is present. It also comes with iRobot XLife battery enabling the Roomba 880 to function for a longer period.

For more information on the Roomba 880 as well as customer reviews and also to compare prices of the Rooomba 880 visit our Roomba 880 review page.

irobot roomba reviews



blog comments powered by Disqus

iRobot Facebook Posts

Wood, tile, carpet—the Roomba breaks down and picks up dirt and debris on any surface because the floor is our
open road. bit.ly/ZWL1hQ
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Dan Walker, Jen Kimmell Edmonson and 23 others like this

View previous comments

Phillip AllenNot all terrain, ours won't go from tiles to carpet like this without problems agree with the above post let's not get carried away. Tank tracks would solve the problem. Posted this same comment this morning and looks like the team at robot conveniently deleted it1 day ago   ·  3
Concetta SouderI love my Roomba. It may get stuck once in a while but it saves me a lot of work. I should have gotten one years ago. It does a better job than I could do with a push and pull vac. I think they improve over the years.18 hours ago   ·  2
Carlos Fernando YepezNot true. My roomba sometimes gets stuck on my rug that's half the height of the one pictured. Love the product, but let's not get carried away.2 days ago
Fred TealeyOur roomba easily goes from tile to Persia rug and vice versa. Also goes from tile up to the rugs.5 hours ago
Paula Pieroni EvansHow well does it work on title floors?15 hours ago
Jennifer LewisYessin's 'n a yezz!! I'z wants one so bad!!..1 day ago
Valerie Ferguson StattonI love my roomba!!! Goes from rugs to hardwood without a problem. Great under beds!10 hours ago
Flo MoranMine transitions from hardwood to carpets. Love them.18 hours ago
PaTrick F. BaLicathello sir Where Can I buy Irobot Kingg box tablet here in Philippines21 hours ago
Connie Raymer Bowmani love my rumba!!!!!!!!!!!, best thing ever especially to get under the beds12 hours ago
Ej FieldsLove mine. It cleans better than my three other vaccum cleaners and saved my back. I will never buy anything else.15 hours ago
Ralph CookTwo of ours have bumped the wall too many times and even with cleaning the sensors, it just went in circles. They are far too expensive to maintain, so I am back to cleaning with a much better vacuum which is cheaper to operate and much easier to clean. Goodbye, I-robot.15 hours ago
Margarita Ramos❤❤❤9 hours ago

Comment on Facebook

Has your pet ever tried to take Roomba for a joyride? @chewythedoggiee here has no problem showing who's boss. ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Debra Graham, Glen Adkins and 23 others like this

View previous comments

Cherie Goswick MathisMy pug boys just follow Robbie around while he does his job lol...4 days ago   ·  16
Alycia Creel-EisenmengerWhat I love most about my Roomba is that it is not as loud as a conventional vacuum and my dog does not go berserk. Plus cleaning is now so much fun! We named him Steve by the way. I like having a man help out. ;-)4 days ago   ·  10
Craig C ShepardI bought my wife a Roomba in 2013 and we use it everyday. Even dropped it from my waist line which is about three and a half to 4 feet twice. On to a wooden floor. Still runs great and sucks up the dirt.3 days ago   ·  2
Lisa RanckYes! My rabbit does. I'll try to find a picture & post it.3 days ago   ·  2
Shawna Snyder3 days ago   ·  20
Fifi FriendlySadly he too big to do that (black lab), although we have put his snacks on it for him to follow! That was fun.4 days ago   ·  6
Scott MartinNo but caught mine beating up the broom.3 days ago   ·  5
Amanda Cronin Ferguson2 days ago   ·  3
Glynne Dee StrubeMy dog bites it. The top is all scratched up from her. LOL3 days ago   ·  3
Scott Martin3 days ago   ·  2
Linda DavisI can't get my cats to ride mine lol one stalks it more then the other one, but they get out of the way when Rosie is working lol3 days ago   ·  1
Isaiah FloresI need one of those3 days ago   ·  1
Verna SlankerMy chi chi doesn't ride my roomba3 days ago   ·  1
Dorothy Jean CarrellMy dog would love to but too big. Hates when the Roomba is on the loose3 days ago   ·  1
Kenny SchulzAww, Chewy is helping!3 days ago
Brandy Lynn Bradshawso sweet2 days ago
Audrey Owenstoo cute..lol3 days ago
Sarah L GilesMy cat runs from it3 days ago
John MungoYes, but she weighs 50 lbs... I wouldn't let her3 days ago
Teresa OckermanI won't one!!!!3 days ago
Chloe JonesPoor thing!3 days ago
Sue Oglesby StrongMine is scared to death of it lol3 days ago
Rebecca AnnToo cute!2 days ago
Philip Shorty CasadosRide? Boss? I don't think so. He got his weenie stuck in that thing again, didn't he!?3 days ago
Glenda WatsonMy pug does!!!3 days ago

Comment on Facebook

Spring means finally pulling those warm-weather clothes out of storage—and we know a robot that would love to help with the dust. ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Sharon Willis, Terry Mora and 23 others like this

View previous comments

Peťa Pájovo ŘežábkováGreat help! Roomba is the best! We use it every day and it's perfect ;-)4 days ago   ·  1
Raphael Feuchti love my roomba, it saves lots of time !4 days ago   ·  2
Elaine RuedenLove my Robot , it does a great job and under beds too.5 days ago   ·  2
Heather MarlowI just got one iRobot, ordered the 761 through Kohl's, it came today! I am so excited! i didn't have that model in mind to begin with, wasn't even aware there was a 761, so hopefully it will be the right fit for me! iRobot please message me and let me know if there is any tricks or tips I should know with this model. When I had researched them this model never caught my attention, but it seemed like a great choice with the remote and virtual walls!4 days ago   ·  1
Winona FlippinI love my Roomba3 days ago
Steven BarronGive me one ...!3 days ago
Mac BrownI need one of thoes under bed cleaners haha5 days ago

Comment on Facebook

Move over, mop boys. There’s a new bot on the court keeping things dry. ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Kyra Hayes, Milan Skaličan and 23 others like this

View previous comments

Rickey Howell Sr.Can it do my house ?6 days ago
Stacy LaSalle ShinasCurious, which is really better for vacuuming the hardwood floors? 880 or 650? Thanks!7 days ago
Hermelinda PerezWhat is that?7 days ago
Rajesh SubramanianI was wondering what algorithm is used in Braava for navigation ?1 week ago
Margaret FauchierThat looks like my sweet mopsie. I also have a roomba, but she is a little noisier and more aggressive. Love them both, they keep my floors clean while I watch evening TV.6 days ago   ·  1
Paula Lindsay AkinI have one. It's mopping my kitchen right now. I really like it7 days ago   ·  1
Karen AltmaniRobot is the best7 days ago   ·  1
Sandra BurchI have four and they are the best and saved my hands1 week ago   ·  2
Pamela HenryThe best cleaning tool to invest in..........1 week ago   ·  1
Vickie FranconeThe best hardwood floor moper1 week ago   ·  1
Carla McCraw-Kidder ViceI love mine and it is currently mopping our master bedroom.1 week ago   ·  1
Duck PerryI got 1 of these for Christmas from my mom. I love it.1 week ago   ·  1
Cortney Smith MontgomeryWe have this one too. Not too impressed by it.1 week ago   ·  3
LuAnn Eberly CrimWe have the iRobot that cleans the eaves. I have to check out the rest of the toys. I mean tools. Tools.1 week ago   ·  2
Jr CobbI need the entire irobot family !1 week ago   ·  2
Jeff WhittleOurs is wonderful. Even our four dogs ignore it now - although they had a hard time at first. :)1 week ago   ·  1
Randee MichaudI have both this one and the vacuum and I love them if don't have time they work awesome1 week ago   ·  1
Neil KnightAlan parsons had an album called I robot. Hope no lawsuits6 days ago
Melissa MilliganWouldn't waste my time on the mint (this mopping thing). Or the small scooba without the rotating brushes. Get the real scooba and roomba. They work.7 days ago
James FieldsI love those things1 week ago
April Elizabeth KaufmanI want one. ; )6 days ago
Drew HutchisonGirls hate stuff like this for there birthday.1 week ago
Denise Barge ColeI want one of these so bad!7 days ago
Wendy MichelleLove mine!1 week ago
Donald HarrisThat's very awesome1 week ago

Comment on Facebook